Tags

,

“I used to believe that we must choose between science and reason on one hand, and spirituality on the other, in how we lead our lives. Now I consider this a false choice. We can recover the sense of sacredness, not just in science, but in perhaps every area of life.”

~ Larry Dossey, M.D., Reinventing Medicine

My mission in this blog is to share perspectives on spiritual growth. I find that spiritual growth occurs or we resist it and still spiritual growth occurs. If there is any humility and tenderness in us, there will be spiritual growth that out weighs the ego agenda. The ego only seems to be capable to prevent us from realizing the potential of a spirit-filled mind and body. I gave up wrestling with the ego to exterminate it. I wrestle now with the ego just to test my strength of conviction, my humility and to sharpen in me awareness and my resolve to be of service to others.

Of course, when I want to best my growth, I turn to God. Prayer is one daily activity that keeps me up with growth of awareness of the loving grace and presence of God in my life.

Today, I’m exploring with prayer, the tried and tested of prayer.  

The Science of PrayerPrayingGirl2

How Is Prayer Scientific?

Larry Dossey: “Prayers work because of love!”

Larry’s studies often involve work with practitioners and their patients. He reports:

“We can call it compassion or deep caring. Old physicians in our culture used to call it bed side manner; that captured love, compassion, devotion, but if you take away love, or really deep connected-ness, between the healer and the patient, these studies don’t work very well.”

.

.

In part two, Larry talks about his specific life lessons and pioneering research. One thing that I want to point out is that he says that your prayer after the fact is just as powerful as prayer before the fact.

In the final, part three, its the short wrap up that got cut.

.

see also
Playlist –
Prayer and the Power of Prayer
see also: Biography: Larry Dossey

You can search additional related topics here: